Winter Wind Down


Last Saturday I went ice skating!  I feel like spring can come now that I got that out of my system.  Usually if I don’t ice skate or ski at least once in the chilly season I feel like I didn’t really live winter.  I know, kind of a silly thing, but it’s what I grew up with and reminds me of being a kid again.

The last time I posted about skating was in 2011.  Check out my So You Think You Can Skate post. This time I made it to a new rink in the city.  The Canal Park Ice Rink was so much fun!

ice rink 2013 3

The rink is in the shape of a Figure 8, making it much more of a unique skating experience than going round and round in one circular motion.  I took two kids who are siblings (8 and 10 year old) who I tutor and they LOVED it!  Being their first time, EVER, skating, it was really neat for me to watch them go from being a bit timid and shy of the ice to being essentially fearless!  I’m not so sure a neophyte adult skater would have fared so well.

ice rink 2013

Sometimes they wanted to hold my hand and sometimes not.  I teased the boy that I had my date for the evening and he smiled–still at that sweet age where he isn’t too embarrassed to show some affection towards adults.  We had races, I dragged them along as I skated backwards, and the staff at the rink were so awesome teaching them some of the basics…it was like having built-in baby sitters along with me.  And it helped that the rink was not crowded at all.

ice skating 2013 4
ice rink 2013 2Overall, just a really fun-filled Saturday evening activity.  And a calorie-burning one to boot!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

