Lenten Photo Challenge: Day 13-18


Today was another cold, chilly morning.  I knocked out a 9 mile run and was feeling good.  A friend joined me for part of the run.  While on my own, I realized that my SealTeam PT shirt, which I wore for the first time, is quite a good marketing tool for the program.  I ran by a pair of joggers at one point and said good morning.  Then about half a mile ahead, I pulled off to the side to turn my music on.  They passed me and the guy said, “Uh oh, Seal Team has a technical malfunction!”  I laughed and a few minutes later passed them again.  I heard him say to his girlfriend, “There she goes again.”  I chuckled.  Then about a mile and a half later I turned around to head back.  As I passed them he made another funny comment which I can’t remember and I told them to have a great day.  I found the whole exchange particularly amusing.

Trail run view from the bridge.

Trail run view from the bridge.

So I think I’m all set for next week’s 10-miler, my first race of the year!  Seeing as I skipped the Cupid Sprint last month (how can a 2-miler really be counted as a race anyway?), I’m all ready for race season now!

And as we are getting ever so closer to Easter, it’s time to update the Lenten Challenge.  I am finding these getting more and more difficult with fewer and fewer photos that grab me.  But here goes nothing…

COVER: The word reminded me of what we do as children, covering our Easter basket of treats (or Halloween candy).  As adults the word goes much deeper.  We lose the childlike sense of being free and often instead try to cover who we are.  We are always striving for success, to get ahead, to prove that we are fearless, worthy and invincible.  But God knows all of our imperfections and fears. And He loves us despite them.  I know that I'm learning not to be afraid.  Pulling the cover away is freeing when we finally do so.

COVER: The word reminded me of what we do as children, covering our Easter basket of treats (or Halloween candy). As adults the word goes much deeper. We lose the childlike sense of being free and often instead try to cover who we are. We are always striving for success, to get ahead, to prove that we are fearless, worthy and invincible. But God knows all of our imperfections and fears. And He loves us despite them. I know that I’m learning not to be afraid. Pulling the cover away is freeing when we finally do so.

Lift:  A prayer–Lord, lift the shade in my life to let your light shine in, lift my spirits through the tough times, and allow me to lift others through your grace.

HEAR: We are surrounded by so much noise and clutter in our lives--much of it useless.  Often when I commute to work I shut my eyes for a few minutes to help zone out all that noise. It helps to focus my thoughts and be at peace in that moment.  Sometimes it's in the noisiest moments when I can hear You most clearly. Everyone else is rushing to get to work and I am enjoying the moment at hand.

HEAR: We are surrounded by so much noise and clutter in our lives–much of it useless. Often when I commute to work I shut my eyes for a few minutes to help zone out all that noise. It helps to focus my thoughts and be at peace in that moment. Sometimes it’s in the noisiest moments when I can hear You most clearly. Everyone else is rushing to get to work and I am enjoying the moment at hand.

EARTHLY: The ground came to mind as the image when I think of this word.  Also reminds me of this verse: "Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven...For where your treasure is, there your heart will also be." Matthew 6:19-21 (NKJV)

EARTHLY: The ground came to mind as the image when I think of this word. Also reminds me of this verse: “Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven…For where your treasure is, there your heart will also be.” Matthew 6:19-21 (NKJV)

PROPHET: "One inspired by God through the Holy Spirit to deliver a message for a specific purpose" (Wikipedia).  The image of the National Cathedral that I snapped the other day from a cab is the best image I can think of to depict this word.  But the real catch is that a church is not the only place where you can hear a message announcing the good word.

PROPHET: “One inspired by God through the Holy Spirit to deliver a message for a specific purpose” (Wikipedia). The image of the National Cathedral that I snapped the other day from a cab is the best image I can think of to depict this word. But the real catch is that a church is not the only place where you can hear a message announcing the good word.

LEAVE:  “Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have.  For He Himself has said, I will never leave you nor forsake you.”  Hebrews 13: 5 (NKJV)

Have a wonderful weekend!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

