Lenten Photo Challenge: Day 19-27


As we get closer to Easter, I hope you find these photos and thoughts as an opportunity for reflection and inspiration.

THIRST: Have you ever chugged glass after glass of water after a long time out in the sun or a tough workout, but felt that your thirst just wasn’t being quenched?  I know that I often go looking to “quench my thirst” in life through my own accomplishments.  Although they can be exciting for a bit, they always fall short in the long run. It’s through our faith  that this need is fulfilled.  For the Bible says, “If anyone is thirsty let him come to Me and drink.” John 7:37-38

BLESS:  A song I like, "Bless the Lord, o my soul.  O my soul.  Worship His holy name.  Sing like never before. O my soul. I worship your Holy name."  (10,000 Reasons by Matthew Redman)  I went to St. Patrick's church during lunch on Monday and felt blessings pour over me with a deeper sense of what Lent is about.

BLESS: A song I like, “Bless the Lord, o my soul. O my soul. Worship His holy name. Sing like never before. O my soul. I worship your Holy name.” (10,000 Reasons by Matthew Redman) I went to St. Patrick’s church during lunch on Monday and felt blessings pour over me with a deeper sense of what Lent is about.

NIGHT

NIGHT

SHADOW

SHADOW

NO:  I’m convinced that when things in life are hard and we begin to focus on how we, and we alone, can improve them they only tend to get worse.  I learned about the effects of spiritual warfare during my weeks leading up to my first mission trip last summer.  Life seemed stressful and overwhelming.  When you feel like things in your life just can’t be done, take a step back and shut down the Devil’s work in making you think, “no, I can’t do this.” Through faith anything is possible to overcome–it’s time to start saying YES!

FIND:  We are all trying to find our way in the world.  Even the daffodils that bloom in the spring (or a little earlier like this bunch in early March).  As I've grown in my faith journey, I have realized that I don't have to keep looking for God.  He finds us and we are to be faithful.  He expects us to bloom where we are planted.

FIND: We are all trying to find our way in the world, even the daffodils that bloom in the spring (or a little earlier like this bunch in early March). As I’ve grown in my faith journey, I have realized that I don’t have to keep looking for God. He finds us and we are to be faithful. He expects us to bloom where we are planted.

FAITHFUL:  St. Patrick's Church in Washington, DC.  I stopped there during lunch one day and through those church doors could feel the faithful presence of fellow Christians in prayer and quiet time.

FAITHFUL: St. Patrick’s Church in Washington, DC. I stopped there during lunch one day and through those church doors could feel the faithful presence of fellow Christians in prayer and quiet time.

ATE: As someone who has been active all my life, I know that what I eat makes a huge difference in how I feel.  I love fruits and veggies and eating healthy, but I also have a sweet tooth.  It's my weakness.  Yes, I admit, I have justified eating a cookie (or two) knowing that I am going for a run later.  When I set goals for a race and am consistent with a training plan, I don't crave what's bad for me nearly as much.  I think the same is true of feeding our lives on Christ.  The more we feast on the word, the less likely we are to want to keep the junk in our lives.

ATE: As someone who has been active all my life, I know that what I eat makes a huge difference in how I feel. I love fruits and veggies and eating healthy, but I also have a sweet tooth. It’s my weakness. Yes, I admit, I have justified eating a cookie (or two) knowing that I am going for a run later. When I set goals for a race and am consistent with a training plan, I don’t crave what’s bad for me nearly as much. I think the same is true of feeding our lives on Christ. The more we feast on the word, the less likely we are to want to keep the junk in our lives.

HAPPY:  In my family, we call our favorite beach town in New Jersey our "happy place" because of all the fun-filled summer adventures we've had over the years.  You hear all kinds of other phrases out there like "happy is where the home is" and "don't worry, be happy." As I've grown up, I've learned that you can't rely on other people to make you happy, it has to come from within and within, for me, means relying on the wisdom and love that God brings to our lives.  Being happy is something that we are all capable of, just don't be afraid to ask for God's encouragement along the way.

HAPPY: In my family, we call our favorite beach town in New Jersey our “happy place” because of all the fun-filled summer adventures we’ve had over the years. You hear all kinds of other phrases out there like “happy is where the home is” and “don’t worry, be happy.” As I’ve grown up, I’ve learned that you can’t rely on other people to make you happy, it has to come from within and within, for me, means relying on the wisdom and love that God brings to our lives. Being happy is something that we are all capable of, just don’t be afraid to ask for God’s encouragement along the way.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lenten Photo Challenge: Day 19-27

  1. Melanie Bowen says:

    Hello,

    I have a question about your blog, could you please email me? Thanks!!

    Melanie

Leave a Reply

