Lenten Photo Challenge: Day 28-32


This was a busy week and I’m so glad it’s the weekend.  One calming thing has been keeping up with this Lenten photo challenge.  Even on the days when I did not snap a photo, I’m finding this exercise a great way to start or end my commute by meditating on the word of the day and jotting some notes down that I later translate onto the blog.  Hope you too are finding peace and respite in your weeks leading to Easter.

To start, I wanted to share this photo that I took Thursday morning after SealTeam PT.  It was a cold morning workout, but such an incredible sunrise coming up over the Capitol building in the distance makes the end to those workouts so worth the effort!

Seal Team PT Early Morning

SURROUND: There’s a lot of noise in our world, and a lot of it is just that–noise.  People who want to hear the sound of their own voice (we know who they are).  Sometimes I think there is wisdom in the quiet people.  I’m always wondering what they are thinking.  A lot of people are really uncomfortable with silence, but it’s a nice respite and offers an opportunity to listen to God trying to get a word in to our noisy and distracted lives.  Sometimes I will go for runs without music.  That’s when I think most clearly.  Enjoy the silence.  It can be a good thing.

WATER: I’ve always said that I have to live near water.  There is something about it that brings a certain peace to my life.  I’ve never been afraid to swim in the ocean or the bay (now the Potomac River might be another story, although I like to look at it everyday as I commute home). Water is cooling and it’s needed for our survival.  But we often take it for granted.  Sounds a lot like our faith.

GO: I'm always on the go and setting goals and projects that I want to accomplish.  This blog, running a marathon, and maybe a tri down the road are all examples.  But lately in some of my studies, I've been struck with wonder as to whether I've stopped long enough to ponder why I am doing these things.  I may not be serving in faraway lands (at least not right now), but I know there is a plan for me in my own backyard.  Am I going whereever God is telling me to go, or just what is safe and secure in my own little bubble?

GO: I’m always on the go and setting goals and projects that I want to accomplish. This blog, succeeding at work, running a marathon, and maybe a tri down the road are all examples. But lately in some of my Bible studies, I’ve been struck with wonder as to whether I’ve stopped long enough to ponder why I am doing these things. I may not be serving in faraway lands (at least not right now), but I know there is a plan for me in my own backyard. Am I going where God is telling me to go, or just what is safe and secure in my own little bubble?

TEMPER:  “A fool always loses his temper, but a wise man holds it back.” -Proverbs 29:11

SURROUND: Much like this fence that was surrounding a ditch to prevent people from falling in, I think of God's glory in surrounding us with protection and love.

SURROUND: Much like this fence that was surrounding a ditch to prevent people from falling in, I think of God’s glory in surrounding us with protection and love.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

