Lenten Photo Challenge: Day 33-38


It’s been a good week of workouts for me, 2 mornings of SealTeamPT, a kettlebell morning workout paired with a lunch time spin class and a long-ish run last night after work.  But one thing is for sure, I am ready to start stripping layers!  I’m ready for the sun and long warm days outside by the pool.  Aren’t you?  Bundling up for these outdoor workouts and wearing a hat and gloves is really getting old now.  It’s almost April and I’m ready for some warmer days.  But it’s all good, despite the cold there is something really rewarding about getting it done in 30 degrees!

We are getting closer to Easter and my brain has been so busy with work, upcoming travel and more that I’m trying to stay focused on why we are here to begin with.  Here are my thoughts for the last few days on the photo challenge.

NEW: When you give your life over to Christ, what’s old is new again.  Just like the start of a new day, we are all capable of a new beginning.

RISE: When I think of rise, I look up.  So this photo of a building on my walk to work is what I snapped.  In the context of faith, we will be using that word a lot on Easter Sunday.  "He has risen, risen indeed."

RISE: When I think of rise, I look up. So this photo of a building on my walk to work is what I snapped. In the context of faith, we will be using that word a lot on Easter Sunday. “He has risen, risen indeed.”

This is a photo of a painting that my grandmother painted a few years ago after her stroke.  She had a long period of rehab and art therapy was a huge part of that process.  She told me that this picture came to her mind in a dream and so it was her first painting post-stroke.  Amazingly her talent did not dwindle. God was faithful to her and gave her the courage to keep fighting.  Sometimes our dreams seem far reaching and unattainable, but I'm certain that if we keep Him as part of that plan He will not let us down.

DREAM: This is a photo of a painting that my grandmother painted a few years ago after her stroke. She had a long period of rehab and art therapy was a huge part of that process. She told me that this picture came to her mind in a dream and so it was her first painting post-stroke. Amazingly her talent did not dwindle.
God was faithful to her and gave her the courage to keep fighting. Sometimes our dreams seem far-reaching and unattainable, but I’m certain that if we keep Him as part of that plan He will not let us down.

BELOVED:  God loves us just the way we are and He in turn should be sung praises to for all the blessings and love we are shown in our lives.

HOME:  When I think of the physical home, my living room comes to mind.  It's cozy and safe.  Home is where family comes for holidays.  Home is being with people you love.  Home is knowing Jesus is always by your side.

HOME: When I think of the physical home, my living room comes to mind. It’s cozy and safe. Home is where family comes together for holidays. Home is laughter and hugs and sometimes even tears.  It’s being with people you love. Home is knowing Jesus is always by your side.

ALONE:  Personally, I enjoy having some alone time but it’s by choice.  I know I have friends and family to call on and they will be by my side when I want or need them.  But the word by itself sounds sad and lonely to me, so if I saw a person that appeared this way that’s what my photo would look like.  But in reality placing your faith in Jesus means you never really are alone.  I think that’s a pretty awesome feeling!

Happy Friday to all…

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

