Lenten Photo Challenge: Day 39-43


We had more snow on Monday and my early morning workouts so far today and yesterday were still chilly, but we are into the 40-degree temperatures, which believe it or not seems warm now!  I’m eagerly awaiting the cherry blossoms here in DC to bloom.  Last year they came early, this year they seem to be late.  But that is what life is all about, the unpredictability of what each day brings to us.

This Lenten challenge has helped me to rest knowing that I don’t actually have to have it all figured out.  And once you are able to let go of being in control of every aspect of life it’s a pretty cool place to sit in.  One thing I’d like to know though is why this photo challenge is longer than 40 days. I’m a little confused.  Must have something to do with the calendar, but oh well.  It’s Holy Week and I hope to capture some of these words for you to reflect on as well.

RESTORE:  This past weekend I visited with two of my best childhood friends in the great state of North Carolina.  As we were heading back to the airport we were remarking on what girlfriends mean.  One said, “they keep us sane!”  I would add they help restore us, lift us and encourage us.  Jesus can do the same.  It was only until recently that I truly felt this restorative effect on my life.  When you keep Him close to you each day you can experience so many positive outpourings on your life.

BLESSED:  I started a gratitude jar in the new year as a way to document the blessings that I should take note of in my life.  I know that I have so much to be thankful for and this challenge has been a reminder of that.

REJOICE: I’m picturing a person leaping into the air at this moment!  Life is full of moments that we should rejoice and share with one another.

LIGHT: The mornings I leave boot camp class (this morning especially) I am amazed by the beauty of God's creation in the sky.  Even this photo I took yesteday on my way to boot camp of the full moon, a neighborhood lamp and the other street lights reminded me that each new day is a gift given to me from above.

LIGHT: The mornings I leave boot camp class (this morning especially) I am amazed by the beauty of God’s creation in the sky. Even this photo I took yesterday before class of the full moon, a neighborhood lamp and the other street lights reminded me that each new day is a gift given to me from above.

HELP: In anything we do in life, we need help along the way. When we think we can handle life’s challenges all on our own, that’s usually when we fall the hardest.  So I’m a believer in reaching out to others when I need advice or support on something that I just can’t figure out on my own.  Praying that you need help is a good place to start.

Today is Maundy Thursday, also known as the Last Supper.  I’m looking forward to taking part in this day of reflection as we near Easter Sunday.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

