Cherry Blossom Mania


The waiting for warm days has finally come to an end.  It reached 90-degree temperatures this week.  So in one week we went from 30’s to 90’s!  And the icing on the cake is that Wednesday was the peak day for the cherry blossoms in DC.  So much waiting and checking on those buds and they are finally here!

Yesterday was a double-session workout day for me.  SealTeam PT in the morning and a long run home in the evening.  Both times, of which I got to see the cherry blossoms.

Wednesday’s workout theme was…you guessed it, Blossoms!  So our instructor made sure that we got to run by the Tidal Basin where the majority of the trees stand.  And we stopped for a number of photos too.  Seeing as how I am photo obsessed, this was my kind of workout.  I only wished I had my camera with me during the workout, but I did snap some shots post-workout just before 7 am.

We got in a 3.5 mile workout along with a lot of squats.  I don’t remember much else because the beautiful trees enchanted me.  As we ran along the tree-lined Tidal Basin and Potomac River, I truly felt at peace.  There were photographers setting up shop early in search of the perfect photo.  As we ran back to our cars the streets were becoming more and more packed with tourists making their way in to enjoy the spectacular scenery.

Cherry Blossoms 2013 8

Cherry Blossoms 2013 3  Cherry Blossoms 2013 6 Cherry Blossoms 2013 2

Cherry Blossoms 2013 5  Cherry Blossoms 2013 7 Cherry Blossoms 2013 9

Cherry Blossoms 2013 10

Then later that day I kept the blossom theme going.  My friend Nicole and I ran home and had the chance to snap a few photos along the way.  The congestion of people was much more intense from the early morning peace and it was in the 80’s compared to the morning 60-degree temperatures.

I am claiming the run to be this week’s long run since I won’t have time to get it in over the weekend.  It was long and hard, my knees were throbbing a bit and I was really dried out due to the heat, allergies and a sore throat coming on.  Towards the end of the jaunt, I stopped for a Gatorade which was close to being the best part of my day!  Despite my aches and pains, 8.5 miles running home beats public transportation any day.  Whew what a day it was–12 miles total and beautiful shots of the trees to document the arrival of spring.

Cherry Blossom Run Home 2013 3

Cherry Blossom Run Home 2013 2 Cherry Blossom Run Home 2013 4

Cherry Blossom Run Home 2013 1

For more photos, check out my 2011 post.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cherry Blossom Mania

  1. still impressed with your epic run day! and great pictures!

Leave a Reply

