Little Blue Box


Sunday’s inaugural Nike Women’s Half Marathon in Washington, DC was a great race.  And while I may have been a little harsh on the expotique, overall it was a very well-organized event.  The water stops, mile markers, bands along the way, and signage was top-notch and I was happy that some thought went into making the course different than the Rock n’Roll Half and Cherry Blossom 10-miler.

The 7 am race start was the perfect temperature and aside from the massive crowds that did not abide by race etiquette in starting in proper wave starts (times that designate your approximate finish at the end and make it a much better running experience for all), I still managed to make excellent time (only a minute and a half shy of my 2011 personal best).  A special shout-out to Batala who was cranking out the drums around Mile 4…I missed seeing my friend Liz there who used to play with the band!  And to everyone I know who ran–Brittany, Nicole and Margaret–and especially to Jessica (wife of our 30 Before 30 blogger) who ran her first ever half!

Here are some photos to showcase the day and my prize….a little blue box waiting at the finish line:

Excited crowd of 15,000 waiting for the race to begin...mainly women and a few very lucky men!

Excited crowd of 15,000 waiting for the race to begin…mainly women and a few very lucky men!

Inspirational signs were on the race way throughout Haine's Point--the longest stretch of the run that can be incredibly boring.

Inspirational signs were on the course throughout Haine’s Point–the longest stretch of the run that can be incredibly boring.  There were also some pretty unique signs that people made along the way.

Two bands set up shop through the 9th Street tunnel that we hit at both the start and end of the race.

Two bands set up shop through the 9th Street tunnel that we hit at both the start and end of the race.  They really got me going at the beginning!

Running towards Mile 12 and getting close to the homestretch!

Running towards Mile 12 and getting close to the homestretch!

After crossing the finish line at 1:52:53 I admired the red carpet!  They went all out for us today.

After crossing the finish line at 1:52:57, I admired the red carpet! They went all out for us today.

My Tiffany necklace awaited me (and tuxedoed college boys handed them out).

My Tiffany necklace awaited me (and tuxedoed college boys handed them out).

Showing off the blue box.

Showing off the blue box.

And my new finisher shirt!  Did I mention turquoise is my favorite color?

And my new finisher shirt! Did I mention turquoise is my favorite color?

Yes, I run DC.

Yes, I run DC.

My friend Brittany and I were excited to relish the moment!

My friend Brittany and I were excited to relish the moment!

Till next time...

Till next time…

I’m taking a little breather from the long races and have a few things up my sleeve, so stay tuned for my next series of adventures coming your way!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Little Blue Box

  1. Had so much fun with you on race day!!

  2. ChelseaLeigh says:

    This looks so fun! I’d love to do this sometime but it’s at the end of the running season here in FL so it would be hard to do such a long race so late. And people who don’t follow the time slots drive me nuts! Especially the run walkers who stop right in front of you.

  3. Sarah says:

    The Nike races are the best!! glad you had such a fun time. 🙂 Looking forward to seeing what you have up your sleeve next!!

Leave a Reply

