Stay Healthy While You Travel


Today’s guest blogger describes himself as a “fitness and living healthy enthusiast.”  In his spare time, Mike Manning loves to travel the world by experiencing nature’s beauty through hiking, running, camping and cooking.  In his post today, Mike offers suggestions for those who enjoy travel but find difficulty in maintaining their exercise and healthy eating routine.  I hope you enjoy reading…let us know how you make the most of your time away from home without overeating and becoming lazy.

Guest Blogger: Mike Manning

Taking the time to stay healthy while traveling in a different city, state, or country can be easier than many tourists might realize. If a hotel doesn’t offer a gym, then searching for fitness facilities in the area around it can often lead to unexpected results. Basketball courts, tennis courts, and running trails are usually available for free. Community centers in many cities often offer visitors the chance to pay for single day access. Fitness can really improve the quality of your trip because it gives your mind a release from stress and allows you to indulge a little bit more in the experience without the guilt of not sticking to your fitness plan.

Make sure to do some due diligence before booking a hotel for your trip. On a recent trip to San Francisco I was able to book a great hotel for my budget and personality because I really looked through the Internet. I studied a travel guide, which gave me a list of all the San Francisco hotels in order of rank. From here I was able to click through each hotel and see the price, amenities offered and the reviews from people whom previously stayed there. This was invaluable for my trip because I was able to stay at the hotel that suited my fitness, health and budget needs.

Eating healthy while on vacation can often be a minor problem for those who might be accustomed to eating healthy at home during their normal routine. The challenge that many people often face when traveling is finding the foods that they are accustomed to having at home during their trip on the road. Many upscale hotels solve this problem by providing their guests with amenities like a small refrigerator, a microwave, or a kitchenette. Travelers who might be concerned about sticking to a healthy diet can look for opportunities to prepare their own meals instead of frequenting fast food restaurants.

When selecting restaurants, a reality that many travelers will want to remember is that not every eating establishment provides healthy choices. If a person is on a restricted diet, then finding a restaurant that offers accommodating selections can be a challenge. If an appetizer or entree on a menu contains an ingredient that doesn’t fit into a person’s eating plan, then there is never any harm in asking that it be left out. Most dining venues should comply with individual requests.

Share your travel trips for staying healthy and learn more at Mike’s blog: http://mikemanningmusings.blogspot.com/ 

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

