90-Day Nutrition Challenge (No Eating 2-Hours Before Bed)


Sunday wrapped up nutrition challenge 5–no trans fats.  Here is what I have to report.

What I’ve Learned?

Trans fats are mandated by law to be listed on the packages of all food products.  But, one must pay close attention because if the amount of trans fat is less than 0.5 g, the manufacturer only needs to write “not a significant source of trans fat” on its label.    I also learned to keep an eye out for key words like partially hydrogenated oils.  These are man-made fats, have no health benefits and are known to increase cholesterol and heart disease.  Yuck!  For more information about what to look for check out this USDA Fact Sheet.

What have I missed?

In general, I thought I would miss sweets, but the other challenges have already helped to curb my cravings.  And today when I decided to have a homemade blueberry muffin made by a coworker, I got a killer headache (which may have been the sugar, more than the trans fats).  I learned that yes, I can bake something and not lick the batter or taste-test as soon as it comes out of the oven (made banana bread during the challenge, and butter has trans fats).

Overall, this challenge made me want to keep up with a lot of the things I was already doing.  Healthy eating really does make you feel better.   And now on to a new challenge…

Challenge #6:  No eating within 2 hours before going to bed

Here’s a chance to tackle snacking after dinner (which I don’t think is too hard since I am get most of my snacking done during the day).  There seems to be conflicting evidence so we’ll see how I fare.  I’m not looking to lose weight, but maybe I will sleep more soundly.  And hopefully I won’t wake up in the middle of the night starving!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

