Holiday Running Streak


I know you’ve all been waiting with bated breath to see if I missed a day in the running streak I posted about in November…Drumroll please….I completed the challenge!  I ran 34 days straight for at least one mile each day. The idea was not necessarily to get into the best shape of my life or prepare for a race, but simply to keep active during the busy holiday season.  So every day from Thanksgiving Day to New Year’s Day I laced up my shoes and grabbed my Garmin watch.  Most days the run took place outside either as part of the early hours of morning boot camp or on my own through my neighborhood or during my travels home.  One day over Christmas took me to the old rec field where I grew up playing soccer and I was thinking about all the fun memories I have from those days of long ago.  The treadmill was a second choice and sadly I even ran a mile twice in my basement when I so didn’t want to brave the elements—really the most ridiculous run I could ever do in my life.

At the beginning of the streak, I started off really strong, going fast for my miles (on day two I ran one mile with my brother in 7:30 and on another day at boot camp I ran a 1.5 miler in 10:45), but as the days went on it was just about logging miles.  I didn’t care if I was slow because, well…I got a bit sick of running. My joints were beginning to crack a lot more than usual and I realized how much I need to get back into yoga and swimming.

Over the streak, I logged a total of 85.5 miles.  It’s inspired me to track my mileage through next Thanksgiving to see how far I’ve come.  But one thing is for sure, over these last few days I have chosen not to run!!  There is something to be said for giving your body a rest too!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

