Setting Habits


We are a few weeks into the New Year now and I’ve been lax in setting up any goals for the year ahead. I have a few races on the calendar for the spring, but no set plans for what exactly I want to accomplish. I’m leaning towards doing another triathlon–which one and what distance are the questions. In the meantime though, I’ve been setting daily habits for my life. For example, in my faith-filled journey I’m reading a Proverb a day and it’s amazing that each day I hear just what I needed to in that moment. I’m working on packing healthy lunches and taking my vitamins every day (that is no easy feat). At least 3 days of boot camp is going decently well (except for those bitter cold mornings) and eventually I plan to get back into swimming, yoga, and biking again. I love a good challenge and have continued to track my running mileage for the year (thanks to a handy spreadsheet that my friend Nicole put together) to see if I can make 1,000 miles by next Thanksgiving.

These last few sessions at boot camp we have taken time to stretch at the end which has been good. I’ve always known that stretching does a body good–especially for runners who often have tight hip flexors and typically are not the most flexible. I read today that flexibility is due primarily to one’s genetics, gender, age and level of physical activity; so putting all these things together can either be a positive or a negative. But genetics, age and sex aside, we can improve our level of flexibility by moving the body and taking time to stretch after a warm-up or post workout. I also highly recommend foam rolling which helps to stretch muscles and tensions and soften muscle tissues (i.e. getting out the kinks). I don’t do enough of either and plan to make a more consistent effort. There are lots of sites out there that can show you proper stretching and foam rolling form. So for the next 30-days I’m going to challenge myself to at least 10 minutes of stretching and/or foam rolling each day. It will be neat to see what kinds of benefits show up in my fitness levels!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

