Will Run For Beignets


Last week I was in New Orleans for work.  I arrived on Ash Wednesday, the day after Fat Tuesday. Some might say arriving in the Big Easy the day after Mardis Gras is the best day to be in New Orleans, others might say the worst.  New Orleans signRegardless it was a few days to be out of the office with a little time in between meetings and conferencing to see some sites.  New Orleans run 3Visiting a city where you have already been is exciting in a different way–you are not so focused on seeing it all, but rather getting to revisit places you liked before and anything new is just an added bonus.

If you’ve ever been to New Orleans you know that its known for the food. So after the conference ended, and after eating a lot of heavy food, I decided to throw on my running shoes and head downtown.  New Orleans runThe weather was finally warming up a bit to the low 60’s and I was anxious to get some fresh air.  It was a bustling, and yet relaxing, short jog along the Mississippi Riverfront.  New Orleans run 2Tourists were meandering along taking in the sites and the locals–mainly what I would describe as the homeless, young, gypsies were relaxing along the water’s edge (namely smoking a few joints, but not bothering anyone).  New Orleans run 4My run did not last long though, because you see I had a motive for this run.

There was a purpose to my 0.6 mile run…get some fresh air and make my way faster to the beignets, that is French donuts sold at the famous Café du Monde!  After waiting in line for about 15 minutes I was set…I had a delicious cup of café au lait and three beignets caked in powered sugar.  It was nice to sit there and enjoy one of life’s little pleasures.  Beignets at Cafe du Monde, March 2014

To “walk off” my donuts, I took a walk through the French Quarter which was quite lovely.  I took some pictures of balconies and door frames that were still decorated for Mardis Gras.  Mardis Gras decor 4, New OrleansMardis Gras decor 2, New OrleansThen I made my way down Bourbon Street which was craziness at 4:30 in the afternoon!  I had almost forgotten how much of a culture shock it was to walk down the street, completely sober amidst a sea of rowdy drunkenness.  Mardis Gras decor 3, New OrleansMardis Gras decor 5, New OrleansLive music was blasting from a few bars (I even went into one just to listen for a moment, see video below along with another from a jazz bar the night before). Bourbon Street, New Orleans

I got some pretty interesting comments too from people asking, “How many miles did you run?” and “Wow, people usually don’t exercise around here.”  So I felt a little ridiculous traipsing through that part of town looking all fit (little did they know I had just scarfed down those donuts), but hey it made for good blog fodder.

All in all, running for beignets was worth it.  What do you run for?

me in new orleans 2014



About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

