Don’t Break Your Neck!


One great thing about living near a major city is that there are always new opportunities for adventures.  My latest one took me back about 20 years to the days of the trampoline.  Flight Trampoline Park opened four weeks ago in Springfield, Virginia as the latest fitness rage. So six girlfriends and I decided to give it a whirl!

Flight Trampoline 1 Flight Trampoline, Group Shot 2

Picture a big room filled with trampolines, but in a much safer layout than the backyard trampolines we grew up with.  You won’t have your mom yelling at you here to be careful because you might break your neck!  There are padded walls surrounding the 50 connected trampolines and they are not far off the ground either.  The site’s website states, “a recent study of trampoline parks across the US found an injury incident rate of 0.02%, with the most common injuries being trampoline burns and bruises…a better safety rating than any competitive sport; even safer than bowling!”  Young 20-somethings work the floor to ensure everyone is being safe (I got yelled at for sitting for all of 5 seconds!).  There are also specific trampoline areas designated for dodgeball, basketball slam dunk, and a foam pit.

Flight Trampoline, me bball

Flight Trampoline, me in actionFlight Trampoline, me in action 3Flight Trampoline, me in action 4

We had a blast, as you can see from my facial expressions, and I’ll admit it was an awesome cardio workout.  My heart rate was raised and we all laughed at ourselves and relished when one of our friends did a flip into the pit (I was afraid to try!).   Trampoline cross-fit style classes are starting up in April and I am certain that it would be an amazing workout.  I’m not so sure you’ll see me there on a Friday night when the laser lights come on and the music blares a little louder…I might get shown up by a teenager!  But I’m sure I’ll go again and would love to hear your thoughts on this and other adventures to try.

Check out my other critiques of alternative fitness routines.  I don’t claim to have any special skills in any of these arenas!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

