Running Deep Thoughts


While I’d like to make myself sound incredibly wise and tell you that when I go out for a run there are many deep thoughts running through my head, more often than not, the exact opposite is happening. I notice what other joggers are wearing, who does/doesn’t smile (or wave) when they run by me, who I pass or who passes me, and other things that are probably too embarrassing to post! I wish that during my runs I was able to solve life’s big questions, but rather that time provides me the opportunity to get the junk out of my head. Life ain’t perfect and sometimes our brains can use a timeout from the stresses that life has a way of bearing. The sound of my own breath is enough to reset myself and give myself a little grace that I don’t have to solve everything during that time. And that is just fine by me.

Runners and non-runners alike probably can all agree that we runners come from a different breed. A lot of people don’t get that logging miles, getting faster and breaking PRs is addicting. But I agree we are a little nutty. Have you ever been on a run and asked yourself, “What possessed me to come out in 17 degree weather today?” or “Why am I up THIS early?” or even better, “Why am I running another marathon and why won’t this blister go away!” (well duh! This said to myself at Mile 18 of a marathon). People say having a baby is the most painful thing a woman will ever go through in life, but that you immediately forget the pain (why would people choose to go through it again if they didn’t). Well running is kind of like that…we push through the pain and love it even when we ask ourselves why we are doing it. It’s addicting and challenging and there is always room to grow.

As my first race of the season is only a few days away, I’ll leave you with some BuzzFeed humor to close this post. I know that I particularly found some truth in a number of these and many more came to my mind as I read. Hope you enjoy and don’t take yourself too seriously as a crazy runner like me!

“75 Thoughts Every Runner Has While Out On A Run”

BuzzFeed, by Erin Chack

http://www.buzzfeed.com/erinchack/thoughts-every-jogger-has-while-out-for-a-running

1. What a beautiful day for a jog!

2. This sucks.

3. Well, five miles is only two and half miles each way, which is basically two miles each way, so I’m really only running four miles. That’s not too far.

4. It’s starting to feel far.

5. How long have I been running? A year?

6. SIX MINUTES?!

7. I can barely remember what my life was like before I started this run.

8. OK, concentrate. There are still four-plus miles to go.

9. But who counts the first and last mile? This is pretty much an easy three miler.

10. Oh, shit! A fellow jogger!

11. Should I wave?

12. I’m totally gonna wave.

13. OOOK, they didn’t wave back. Never doing that again.

14. Just keep running, no one saw. Except that old guy who may or may not be averting his eyes.

15. Man, I think I’m hitting that “second wind” thing my gym coach was talking about.

16. Wait, never mind. I’ve been running down a decline.

17. If I leap to avoid dog shit, does that make me a CrossFit athlete?

18. What the heck is CrossFit anyway?

19. Mental reminder: Google CrossFit when I get home.

20. If I ever get home.

21. If I had a heart attack right now, I wonder who would find my body.

22. OMG, I hope I never find a dead body. Joggers always find dead bodies.

23. Bodies. Body. Bod-ay. Runnin’ all day, no one can catch … may.

24. OK, I must be halfway done by now.

25. What?! Only two miles in?

26. Alright, stay focused. What am I going to eat when I get home?

27. I’m running five miles so I should probably eat five slices of pizza.

28. Or I could buy one pizza and ask them to cut it into five slices.

29. I should probably get a side salad too.

30. …

31. F*** the salad actually.

32. Man, what are these people doing in front of me? Walking?!

33. Is this a contest to see who’s the worst at walking? Because you are both champions in my heart.

34. Maybe if I pound my feet on the ground they’ll hear me coming and let me pass.

35. Oh, God. They didn’t turn around and now I’m right behind them. They’re going to think they’re getting mugged by the world’s sweatiest criminal.

36. You know what? Now seems like a good time to run in the street.

37. * Jumps off curb * Parkour!

38. Hi hi hi please don’t hit me with your car.

39. Pedestrian pedestrianizing over here, let me cross.

40. Thank you, Mr. Blue Honda. I’m trying to smile at you but it probably looks like I’m having a stroke.

41. Actually, I wonder what I look like right now.

42. * Checks out reflection in shop window * Yeesh.

43. Is that what I look like when I run? What am I, a newborn deer with a drinking problem?

44. Whatever, I must be almost done by now.

45. Heck yes. Three miles down, two to go. It’s all downhill from here.

46. Except for that very real uphill in front of me. God damnit.

47. Wait, is that… Is that…

48. A DOG!

49. Hi dog! You are so cute. You are now my mascot. I will finish this run for you, pup.

50. And — hello — what do we have here? Your human is pretty cute too.

51. Hope you like drunk fawns, Cute Human.

52. Watch my bambi ass prance up this hill.

53. Holy shit, prancing is exhausting. I am exhausted.

54. Honestly, I don’t even like running.

55. Why do I even run?

56. Why does anyone even run?

57. Why are we even alive?

58. OK, let’s not go down that road.

59. Focus. Focus on that sweet, delicious ‘za waiting at the finish line, calling your name with its cheesy breath.

60. Wait, less than one mile to go? I am KILLING this run.

61. I AM THE SWIFTEST GOD OF ALL TWO-LEGGED CREATURES.

62. YES, including ostriches.

63. Honestly, I should sign up for a marathon.

64. What is it, like 30 miles?

65. That’s just 15 miles each way, which is practically 10, and 10 is twice five, and I can run five miles EASY.

66. That’s it, I’m doing it. Thirty miles.

67. Thirty mile marathon… 30 mile marathon…30 Rock marathon.

68. On second thought, I’ll probably just binge-watch every episode of 30 Rock. That takes a lot of dedication and I will be winded from laughing so hard.

69. But I could probably do a marathon IF I wanted.

70. OK, almost home. Should I shower first and order pizza or order pizza and shower before it shows up?

71. Yep, definitely ordering first. I earned that shit.

72. Oh, no. Oh god no. Another runner. Should I wave?

73. No, be strong! Do not get burned again.

74. OMG, SHE waved first! Hello! Yes! We are both runners! Look at us run!

75. I guess running’s not so bad.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running Deep Thoughts

  1. I love this! All of your running deep thoughts had me cracking up, but I especially love the runners math! I do that too…and the math never really makes sense…I just tell myself that’s because doing math and running at the same time is just hard….but somehow my 10 mile run is really just a 2.5 mile run which is so easy!

Leave a Reply

