And All That Jazz


A few weeks ago I was visiting the great city of Los Angeles to spend a few days with family and friends. It was a great and a refreshing time to get away from the DC rat race. I always enjoy going back to my roots (yes I’m a real native Angelino) and what’s not to love about LA—the weather, the West coast (more laid back) attitude, the glitz and glam (as long as kept in perspective)!

The first night I arrived was lady jazz night! As background, I was visiting Katierose—one of my dearest friends from high school. She and her boyfriend are talented actors and watching them grow their passion day-by-day always inspires me to do the things I love. Katie is my adventuresome, fun-loving friend who has always encouraged me to move outside my comfort zone and try new things. Thank you for that, Katie! So in that vein of trying new things, off we went to lady jazz class.

Now you might be wondering, what exactly is lady jazz class? Well it’s just what it sounds like—a group of ladies meeting each Friday evening at a dance studio to learn a new routine! This idea had been brewing in Katie’s head for many months. In our image-focused culture, dance classes, in her mind, had begun to bleed into the greater world of exercise classes where halfway through the class the instructor calls out, “ok folks, let’s Ladies Jazz, April 2015grab the mats and start our ab routine.” Katie decided an end must come to this madness and it was time to bring dance back to its purest form (after all dancing on its own is a great workout without having to be identified as an exercise class). So with that vision she and her dance instructor friend, Paula, created a space where their friends could take a dance class each week to learn a new routine that Paula would teach every 3-4 weeks. And with that a good old fashioned ladies dance class was born!

Upon arrival that evening at our dance class destination—a ballet school where young girls were finishing up classes (and making us really feel like “old ladies”)—we met up with Katie’s friends who came out for the inaugural class. I quickly learned that this was a low-key, non-judgmental atmosphere where we were all free to be no matter the skill level. And luckily I was not the only one who felt like I had two left feet!

Ladies Jazz 3, April 2015We did a little warmup and soon Paula was teaching us a fun and sexy little dance to the tune of Diamonds Are a Girl’s Best Friend. Think jazz hands, grapevine, chasse’ and ball change (those are the only dance steps/moves that came to mind for this non-dancer) and other moves blending together for the first part of this song. It was a lot of fun; we laughed at our missteps and took pleasure when everything came together! Now that a few weeks have passed I’m sure the group has completely mastered the entire song and I’ll be interested in hearing what’s up their sleeve next! Lyrical jazz is the word on the street…

Ladies Jazz 2, April 2015So what about you? Do you miss the days when you just went out for a run without your Fitbit, took a dance class without the built-in ab routine, or just took a walk around the neighborhood to smell the roses! I’m just as guilty as you in tracking time, miles, and goals, but finding new ways to make your exercise routine fun will be rewarding and you may not even realize you’ve broken a sweat!

If you live in the Los Angeles area and would like to know how to get involved in this ladies’ dance class (or know of some fun dance classes in the greater DC-area) post a comment or send me a message.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And All That Jazz

  1. So much fun! I love forgetting that i am exercising, the sweating and out of breath-nees are by-products of LIVING LIFE TO THE FULLEST!!! . GO!!

Leave a Reply

