An Unstoppable Southern Half Marathon


It’s been three days since Sunday’s Quintiles Bull City Race Fest half marathon in Durham, NC and what a great day it was. For me, just being down South for the weekend made me really happy. I have three homes–where I live now (northern Virginia), where I grew up (south Jersey), and where I went to college and spent my first two adult working years (Durham, North Carolina). NC is one of my happy places and getting away from the hustle and bustle of DC does the soul good. People are friendlier and more laid back, traffic is less, and honestly the food there is better too!

image

So last year I was down for Duke’s homecoming and while having brunch with my mom at Foster’s Market we saw all these people with race medals. I told myself then and there that I would do that race the following year! And race weekend was finally here.image

The day before the race,  my friends and I went to the race expo, lunch and the NC state fair. I was pretty good and did not partake in much of the fried plethora of offerings, but was on my feet for awhile. Fortunately that did not hold me back from completing an excellent race. imageimageimage

imageimage

image image
image

image image image image image

The next morning was cold (37 degrees…brrrr!) and none of us were quite ready for that cold burst of winter-like weather. With that said, I made my way to the start line ready to take on the race.  The race began near the Durham Bulls stadium by all the new restaurants. Durham has really gone through a revitalization over the last few years and I was excited to see things taking off.

imageWe looped our way through the downtown area and past the old Durham Bulls ballpark (where I attended  many a beer fest), through lots of neighborhoods, down to 9th Street (yay Elmo’s Diner), around the perimeter of Duke’s East campus and then into the campus where we ran straight down the quad and past Baldwin  imageAuditorium. image

I thought that was the coolest thing ever–a race that took me right through my beautiful college campus. We took a right to head under the famous painted bridge and down most of Campus Drive.

Then it was back up through some other neighborhoods on the edge of campus.  Lots of hills–nothing super steep but the minute we made it down one hill, it was time to crest back up another. People had written inspiring messages on the hilly streets and that helped keep up my motivation. Around mile 6 or so I passed the 8:30/mile pace group so I knew I was at least ahead of them, but the 8:00 pace group was nowhere to be found. By mile 11 I was pretty much done but knew I was keeping a good pace.  The fans intermingled throughout the course were great! One girl especially was so into her cheering (I must have seen her in five different spots and kept wondering if she was a triplet).

Finally I knew the finish was in sight–we were heading back downtown and the hills had subsided! It was a straight shot to victory and I gave it all I had (only three minutes shy of a personal best).  My friends were at the finish line cheering me on which was so nice–two ran the 5-mile race and one braved the cold weather to support us. image imageAfter a post post-race stretch and massage it was off to brunch, a nap and some R&R. While I’m still a little sore, one thing is certain– I can’t wait to do it again next year!imageimageimage

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

