Government Shutdown


My neighbor said to me this morning, “we are living in a strange time.”  In many ways, I couldn’t agree more.  There is a lot to that statement I won’t get into here.  But as part of that comment, at noon today the government shut down since Congress failed to pass authorization for sufficient funds to continue government operations.  Whatever side of the aisle you sit, I think it’s fair to say that Congress and the President have failed the American people at this juncture in time and should stop pointing fingers at one another and figure out what direction our country is headed.  If not the queen of England might just decide it’s time to take back the colonies (this is a joke moving across the Internet).

And on a lighter note, I took a lunchtime jog on the National Mall and snapped some photos.  It was a beautiful October 80-degree day and yes, in case you didn’t know, even the monuments close during a shut-down.

Gov't Shutdown 3

But that wasn’t stopping people from getting their photos in (and who can blame them).  In fact, Government Shutdown 4I was especially pleased to hear that a group of vets refused to be turned away at the WWII Memorial and pushed over the barricade.  #GovernmentShutdown?  #Ain’tNobodyGotTimeForThat (not even the vets!)Gov't Shutdown 2Gov't Shutdown 1

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment